No place like home: An investigation into the effectiveness of new football stadiums

For my dissertation, I did a special investigation into the effectiveness of new football stadiums.

I’ll be the first to admit that it isn’t perfect. I had grander plans for the project, and it’s something that I’ll definitely come back to in the future. My ultimate goal is to make a global stadium index, and I’d like to start on that as soon as possible.

Until then, my full special investigation can be viewed below. Inside are three features looking at fan and journalistic perceptions of their respective clubs moving stadium – namely Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, and Bayern Munich. I then analyse how to what extent does moving stadium impact the success of football clubs in the long-term. I personally think it’s not much when compared to the likes of Swiss Ramble, but I worked with what scarce data was available.

I hope you enjoy and if you do read it feel free to tell me what you think.

sean walsh spin

Leave a comment